Experiences

A bike ride- who’s pedaling?

How God Reveals Himself

God is amazing, even on our best days God’s plan far surpasses anything we could have dreamed. We’re all trying to figure out what God has planned for our lives. We wont ever completely understand it until we’ve already lived it. Thats the whole point of faith right? It wasn’t until I went on a little journey of faith myself did I actually understand what it meant to not only believe but to live in faith.

Recently God revealed himself to me through a bike ride. I set out on what I thought was going to be a fun enjoyable bike ride to the beach early one morning. I had never been there before but I googled directions and had the morning off so I figured I would go for it. I hadn’t biked in years but I had just bought this nice shiny new bike a few days before and wanted to test it out. I grab my bible, a bottle of water and my devotional, throw it all into a backpack and set out. I was so excited, I prayed quickly before jumping on the bike and then took off!

I immediately knew I was out of shape! I began to come up with a plan B, there was no way I was making it to the beach with my legs hurting after only a few minutes. So I did a short trail, stopped and did my devotions. It was so windy and not the pleasant experience I had hoped for. Feeling unsatisfied I packed up and was going to head back home. Something inside of me said to go a little further, just to see. So I did, and when I got a little further I thought “I’ll go just a bit further and once I get over the bridge then I’ll turn around.” I got over the bridge and got turned around on some back roads. In trying to find my way back to the main road I ended up on the road to the beach. I thought, “Well I made it this far, why not.” I had never been on this road before but I followed the signs and kept on pedaling. The next 6 miles to the beach was long. The road had nothing on it and was one hill after another. Two or three miles down the road I wanted to turn back because I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make it. There was a small voice despite my fatigue and doubt that told me I had to keep going. When I saw the sign for the beach I forgot about my aching muscles and heavy backpack. I was so relieved to see that sign, nothing in the world mattered. I rode my bike down this long path to get to the beach and when I finally arrived I was speechless!

I was in awe of how peaceful and beautiful it was. I could do nothing but sit there in the silence and beauty. I closed my eyes and listened to the waves, felt the small breeze and warm sun and was completely captivated by my surroundings. Id never felt so free and full of life before. I just sat there in the presence of God and his greatness. As I was praying before I headed home God said to me, “This is Life”.

Life is about being unprepared for the long journey he has in store for us. Its about being alone with no one but God to rely on and share the path with. Its about those moments of doubt when you don’t think you can keep going, When you start to question the roads and your own abilities. Its about traveling a road you’ve never seen before but knowing that you have the wonderful creator as your guide. Life is about the storms and the hills and the struggles that seem so great the only option you have is to cry out to God for the strength to carry you through. Life is about feeling the presence of God when you want to turn around and go back to what’s comfortable and familiar but having the Holy Spirit lead you onward. That is life! When we get to where we’re going it’s going to be so much more beautiful than we ever imagined. All the things of this world and the load you carry will disappear in Gods presence. You will hear his whispers like the waves, you will feel his arms wrap around you like the small breeze, his kiss on your forehead like the warm sun, and the complete peace and comfort that you have arrived, and all you will be able to do is praise him!

The way God revealed himself to me is something I will always remember. It taught me not to worry about life, He knows what he is doing. We must live everyday in complete faith and take it one moment at a time. Living in complete surrender to his will in order to experience a life that is far greater than we ever imagined.

Get on your bike… Where will he take you?

Standard

Leave a comment